

## NEWFOUNDLAND AND LABRADOR

## BOARD OF COMMISSIONERS OF PUBLIC UTILITIES

120 Torbay Road, P.O. Box 21040, St. John's, Newfoundland and Labrador, Canada, A1A 5B2

2018-08-31

E-mail: michaelladha@nlh.nl.ca

Mr. Michael Ladha Newfoundland & Labrador Hydro P.O. Box 12400 Hydro Place, Columbus Drive St. John's, NL A1B 4K7

Dear Mr. Ladha:

Re: Newfoundland and Labrador Hydro – 2018 Capital Budget Supplemental Application – Approval of Capital Expenditures to Upgrade the Happy Valley-Goose Bay Distribution System – Labrador Interconnected Group – Requests for Information

This is further to your August 27, 2018 letter submitting that certain of the Labrador Interconnected Group's requests for information (RFI) are beyond the parameters and scope of the Application, would serve to complicate and unduly delay the proceeding and would not be relevant or helpful to the Board in making its determinations.

The Board notes that Hydro's letter is inconsistent with the usual RFI process whereby each RFI is answered individually. Where the requested information is not provided the response would normally set out a full explanation as to why. This approach ensures that reasons for the refusal of each RFI are clear and other parties can assess whether they wish to file a motion to compel the information.

In the interest of efficiency the Board has reviewed Hydro's correspondence to determine if the explanation provided fully addresses why each RFI was not answered. The Board does not believe that the letter adequately addresses the reasons why each RFI should not be answered.

The Board requires that Hydro file a response, including a full explanation, to these RFIs as soon as possible, and no later than 3:00 p.m. Thursday, September 6, 2018.

If you have any questions, please do not hesitate to contact the Board's Legal Counsel, Ms. Jacqui Glynn at jglynn@pub.nl.ca or by telephone 709-726-6781.

Sincerely,

Cheryl Blundon Board Secretary

## CB/rr

Newfoundland & Labrador Hydro

Geoff Young, E-mail: gyoung@ nlh.nl.ca

NLH Regulatory, E-mail: NLHRegulatory@nlh.nl.ca

Newfoundland Power Inc.

Gerard Hayes, E-mail: ghayes@newfoundlandpower.com NP Regulatory, E-mail: regulatory@newfoundlandpower.com

**Industrial Customer Group** 

Paul Coxworthy, E-mail: pcoxworthy@stewartmckelvey.com Dean Porter, E-mail: dporter@poolealthouse.ca

Denis Fleming, E-mail: dfleming@coxandpalmer.com

Consumer Advocate
Dennis Browne, Q.C., E-mail: dbrowne@bfma-law.com Stephen Fitzgerald, E-mail: sfitzgerald@bfma-law.com Sarah Fitzgerald, E-mail: sarahfitzgerald@bfma-law.com Bernice Bailey, E-mail: bbailey@bfma-law.com

**Labrador Interconnected Group** 

Senwung Luk, E-mail: sluk@oktlaw.com

Iron Ore Company of Canada

Benoît Pepin, E-mail: benoit.pepin@riotinto.com Van Alexopoulos, E-mail: van.alexopoulos@ironore.ca

Praxair Canada Inc.

Sheryl Nisenbaum, E-mail: sheryl\_nisenbaum@praxair.com

David Meade, E-mail: dave\_meade@praxair.com

**Teck Resources Limited** 

Larry Bartlett, E-mail: larry.bartlett@teck.com